Oral Health

I have been trying to include health lessons into our Science class.  My son is a very active 6 year old that does not have time to brush his teeth.  I felt that he needs to be reminded why brushing is so important to his health. Here is the learning resources that I used for this oral health lesson.

My son loves this model,  he enjoyed making it talk and bite things.  This model helped us discuss biting and how important it is to have good chompers to eat healthy food.  I plan to use this model for years to come as we address teeth and oral health.

I really like these books for our science lessons.

We watched Youtube videos about brushing our teeth and oral health.

We pulled out an old toothbrush, toothpaste, teeth model and chalk and started practicing what we learned.

wp-1516208156981..jpg

  • I had my son rub colored chalk all over the teeth
  • dip the brush in a cup of water
  • put a pea size amount of toothpaste on the brush
  • put on science kit goggles to avoid toothpaste in the eye
  • Start brushing

wp-1516208193645..jpg

We then, worked on the happy tooth, sad tooth worksheet to add to his science journal.
Here is the link to the worksheet I used by Prekfun.com

20180117_104944.jpg

Questions to ask:

How many teeth does a newborn baby have?
Can you swallow fluoride toothpaste?
How many teeth does an adult mouth have?
Is candy good for your teeth?
How many minutes should I brush my teeth?
When should I brush my teeth?

Enjoy a healthy smile and please subscribe to my blog to get more home school lesson plans, printables and more.

 

This blog contains Amazon Associate links. I receive a small percent of money for any items that are purchased from links on my blog. Any product that I provide a link to, is a product that I use myself. I thank you for your support.

 

Leave a comment