Best Chicken Enchiladas

Standard
Best Chicken Enchiladas

I found this great chicken enchilada receipe on allrecipes.com.  I wanted to adapt the recipe to use my pressure cooker to cook the chicken.  These turned out amazing.  You will replace the first 4 ingredients of the recipe and the first step of instructions with my pressure cooker version below.
Here is the recipe…….Jalapeno Cream Cheese Chicken Enchiladas
Jalapeno Cream Cheese Enchiladas

Here is what I did……….

I placed 1 cup of chicken broth (chicken paste and 1 cup water) with 1 tsp garlic, 1 tsp cayenne, 1 tsp chili powder, salt and pepper in the pressure cooker.  Put the 3 Chicken breasts in the broth and cook on chicken setting for 20 minutes (30 if frozen).

Shred the chicken and follow the rest of the recipe.

If you are looking for a great pressure cooker that does not take up a lot of space, I suggest this one that I purchased

 

I added 4 tsp of the chicken broth from the pressure cooker to the mixture.  I also added 1 tbs of chili powder instead of a tsp.

I buy tin pans from dollar tree.  It makes clean up so much easier and at 50 cents a pan it fits my budget.
Update:  the next door the tortillas were a little dough like, still very good but I think next I make them I am going to only put 1/4 of the can of soft in the bottom and only 3/4 of the remaining sauce on top.

I used mexican blend cheese in place of the monterey cheese.

I placed 3 slices of pepper jack cheese over the enchiladas, then the grated mexican blend.

Bake at 350 degrees for 40 minutes

Serve with sour cream and avocado

Leave a Reply

